Removed Cluster Node still shows it’s self as a cluster member

Hi guy’s,

one thing some of you maybe notice from time to time. When you evict a node from a cluster it can happen that the cluster node it self says it belongs still to a cluster and your not able to force it into a new one or use the node as independent server.

2015-08-08_20-15-37

 

The reason for that is quite simple. There are some points which are configured in a AD Computer Account and DNS for a Cluster Node. Sometimes it happens, that not all attributes are deleted during evicting the node. Most likely it is the following attribute.

2015-08-08_20-14-47

 

So now there are three way’s to solve the issue:

1. Remove the the failover clutser feature from your node, reboot and reinstall it if needed. That fixes the issue in 80% of all cases (in my personal experience) .

2015-08-08_20-33-10

 

2. Remove the cluster node from active directory, delete the computer objekt and rejoin the node. That work in 100% of all cases because you have a totally new computer object and GUID with no old stuff in.

2015-08-08_20-33-52

3. Or for the guy’s and girls who love some pain. Search your AD Computer Attributes and DNS for all cluster entries where the fault node is still in and edit the entries. I wouldn’t suggest it because it is very risky and takes very long time.

 

Tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.